TEX Venture Mentoring Service

ATI has assembled Austin's most accomplished mentors to support startups in the many entrepreneurship programs at UT.


TEXVMS is the Austin Technology Incubator’s mentoring service. It is operated by ATI with the support of the University of Texas System.

TEXVMS is based on the methodology of the MIT Venture Mentoring Service (VMS), which has been used at MIT since 2000 and successfully replicated at over 50 organizations worldwide. The MIT VMS model is based on:

  • Team mentoring
  • Strict Guiding Principles / Code of Ethics
  • A community of highly qualified and committed volunteer mentors
  • Focus on developing the entrepreneur
  • Practical, actionable advice
TEXVMS mentors

TEXVMS Mission Statement

TEXVMS is an organization formed to support entrepreneurial activity within the UT Austin community and the Central Texas region and, thereby, to further the educational mission of UT Austin. TEXVMS believes that the active support of entrepreneurial activities improves the education of those in both the UT Austin community, and the Central Texas regional community, strengthens UT Austin’s role as a world leader in innovation and broadens UT Austin’s academic, teaching, research, and public service missions.

Our mentors

Lance Adams Lance Adams
Infinite Composites Technologies
Kim Allen Kim Allen
Kandid Communications
Wade Allen Wade Allen
Richard Amato Richard Amato
Austin Technology Incubator
Kelsey August Kelsey August
Lone Start Direct
Steve Barcik Amstel Steve Barcik Amstel
High Tech Design Safety
Jamie Beard Jamie Beard
Blackstone LaunchPad, UT Austin
Katharine Beisner Katharine Beisner
Austin Energy
Tyler Drake Tyler Drake
ACC Bioscience Incubator
Scott Evans Scott Evans
Longhorn Maker Studios, UT Austin
Rosemary French Rosemary French
Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas
Andy Geller Andy Geller
Western Peak Investment Advisors
Iga Hallberg Iga Hallberg
Cleantech consultant
Mitch Jacobson Mitch Jacobson
Austin Technology Incubator
Blackstone LaunchPad
Joe Jankosky Joe Jankosky
Intel Corporation
Verena Kallhoff Verena Kallhoff
Texas Health CoLab, Dell Medical School
Chris Laing Chris Laing
Capital City Innovation
Jonathan Libby Jonathan Libby
Dell EMC
Lisa McDonald Lisa McDonald
Austin Technology Incubator
Sara Mitran Sara Mitran
Frost & Sullivan
Mark Murdock Mark Murdock
ATI Executive in Residence
Jim Nelson Jim Nelson
American Epilepsy Institute
Greg Pogue Greg Pogue
IC² Institute, UT Austin
Mark Sanders Mark Sanders
Austin Technology Incubator
George Schaefer George Schaefer
ATI Executive in Residence
Steve Smaha Steve Smaha
Translational Research Institute
Tom Stevenson Tom Stevenson
Doug Stoakley Doug Stoakley
Bridge to Market
Charlie Upshaw Charlie Upshaw
Sandy West Sandy West